Farantouris Nikolaos

farantouris nikolaos

  • Name: Farantouris Nikolaos
  • Title: Professor
  • Material: Law and Policies of the E.U.
  • Office: 102 (150 Androutsou Str.)
  • Tel.: +30.210-414-2716
  • Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Jean Monnet Chair Website: http://jeanmonnet.farantouris.eu/
  • PersonalWebsite: http://www.farantouris.eu/


  • Bio


    • Professor, European Chair Jean Monnet, International & European Studies Dept., University of Piraeus, Greece, 2011 - present  
    • Jean Monnet Chairs are awarded by the EU to University professors pursuing law & regulation research globally with criteria of excellence


    • PhD in Law (DPhil), University of Oxford, 2002 (Somerville College, Oxford)
      • Oxford University Scholarships, Onassis Foundation Thesis Prize 2002
      • Thesis on European Regulation & Maritime Transport
    • LLM (MJur) in European & Comparative Law, University of Oxford, 1998 (Somerville College, Oxford)
      • Somerville College, Oxford Scholarships
    • LLB (BA in Law), University of Athens Law School, 1997
    • State Scholarships (IKY), (among the best law students) 


    • Chair, Legal Affairs Committee, EUROGAS, Brussels, 2016 – 2019
    • Chairman of the Board of Directors, Gas Corporation of Greece (DEPA) SA, 2017
    • Board member, Gas Corporation of Greece (DEPA) SA, 2009-2011
    • Vice Chairman (pro bono), Hypatia Destouni Charity Foundation, 2014 - present
    • Founding member & Member of the Board, Energy Law Association, 2013-2017
    • Arbitrator, Regulatory Authority of Energy, Greece, 2011- present
    • Legal Affairs Committee member, Association of Greek Shipowners, 2009-2013 
    • Chief Legal Adviser, Hellenic Ministry of Shipping, 2004 -2009
    • Board member, Hellenic Anti-trust Committee, 2003-2004     
    • Senior Associate, Norton Rose LLP (International Law Firm) in London, Brussels and Athens, 2000-2004
    • Analyst, Goldman Sachs International, Legal & Compliance Department, London, 2001 


    • President, University Association for European Studies (ECSA Greece), 2016 - present
    • Board member, Energy Committee, Academy of Athens, 2015 - present
    • Executive Board, Jean Monnet European Centre of Excellence, University of Athens, 2013 - present
    • Scientific Board, ELIAMEP Foundation for European & Foreign Policy, 2011- present
    • General Assembly member, Euro-Mediterranean University (EMUNI), 2011 - present
    • Advisory Board, Hellenic State Aid Institute, 2010 - present
    • Academic Associate, European Center of Economic & Financial Law (ECEFIL), 2010 - present


    • Director, Master Program in Energy Strategy, Law & Economics, University of Piraeus, Greece, 2014-2017, 2021-today
    • General Secretary, Jean Monnet European Centre of Excellence, University of Athens, 2013-2015
    • Associate Professor of EU Law & Regulation, Department of International & European Studies, University of Piraeus, Greece, 2008-2014
    • Senate Member (elected), University of Piraeus, Greece, 2010-2011
    • Visiting Professor, University of Paris XII & Bahshesehir University Istanbul, 2007-2017
    • Adjunct Lecturer, Department of International & European Studies, University of Piraeus, Greece, 2002-2008          
    • Visiting Lecturer, Department of Maritime Studies, University of Piraeus, Greece, 2004-2006
    • Post-doctoral Researcher, Faculty of Law, University of Athens, 2002-2003
    • Research Associate, European Public Law Centre, 1998-2000
    • Oxford University European Affairs Society, 1997-2001
    • Oxford Union member, 1997-2001                                  
  • Teaching

    • European Union Law: Institutions
    • European Business Law
    • Policies of the EU
    • International Economic Institutions
    • EU competition and business law
  • Publications


    • The United States Department of State, International Leadership Award on Foreign Policy and Energy Security, 2013
    • Scholarship of the Hellenic Foundation of Scholarships (IKY) for academic excellence, 2002-2003
    • Onassis Foundation Thesis Award, 2002
    • Margaret Pollock Award, Somerville College, University of Oxford, 2000
    • Penrose Fund for doctoral research, Somerville College, University of Oxford, 1999-2000
    • Onassis Foundation Scholarship for doctoral research, 1998-2000
    • Edith Haynes Award, Somerville College, University of Oxford, 1998
    • ARISTOTELES TMR Program Scholar, Faculty of Law, University of Dresden, 1999-2000 
    • ARISTOTELES TMR Program Scholar, Faculty of Law, University of Rotterdam, 1998-1999
    • Vallianos & Antipas Foundation Fund for Post-graduate studies, 1998


    • More than 100 presentations in international business and academic conferences, workshops and training seminars with particular focus on international law & regulation and compliance.  


    • 10 monographs, textbooks and edited volumes on EU Law & Competition, Energy Law, Maritime Law & Business Regulation. More than 50 papers in scientific legal journals and periodical editions including European Competition Law Review (ECLR), Revue du Marché Commun et de l’Union européenne (RMCUE), Revue de l’Energie, Journal of International and Comparative Environmental Law, Revue des Affaires Européennes (RAE), European State Aid Law Quarterly (EStAL) Social & Public Policy Review, et al.


Get In Touch

Department of International & European Studies

  • Secretary Tel: +30 210.4142394
  • Email: des-secr@unipi.gr
  • Address: 80, Karaoli & Dimitriou St.
  • 18534, Piraeus, Greece

University of Piraeus
Department of International &
European Studies

We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used.